How to Upgrade to the Next Generation OneDrive for Business Sync Client

Follow

Applies To: OneDrive for Business

This article is for IT administrators whose users are running the previous OneDrive for Business sync client (Groove.exe) on Windows and planning to move over to the OneDrive for Business Next Generation Sync Client (OneDrive.exe) for syncing personal Documents libraries (also referred to as “OneDrive sites”).

Important: 

  • The OneDrive for Business Next Generation Sync Client now supports Windows 10, Windows 8.1, Windows 8, and Windows 7. The new OneDrive for Business sync client doesn't yet support syncing SharePoint site libraries or on-premises instances of OneDrive for Business (when your organization doesn't subscribe to an Office 365 business plan).
  • Beginning in May 2016, Office 365 customers with fewer than 250 Office 365 licenses will be required to use the OneDrive for Business Next Generation Sync Client to sync OneDrive for Business files. This requirement will be rolled out between May 2016 and July 31, 2016 and will not apply to on-premises customers or customers with more than 250 Office 365 licenses.

If you're ready to install the new OneDrive for Business sync client now, download the OneDrive for Business Next Generation Sync Client.

Installation and setup guides for users are available for installing in Windows and installing on Mac OS X.

Overview

The latest version of the OneDrive for Business Next Generation Sync Client (OneDrive.exe) automatically takes over syncing the OneDrive sites that the previous OneDrive for Business sync client (Groove.exe) was syncing. The following things occur during sync takeover:

  • The previous OneDrive for Business sync client (Groove.exe) stops syncing OneDrive sites.
  • The new OneDrive for Business sync client (OneDrive.exe) starts syncing the same OneDrive sites without re-downloading the content.
  • The previous OneDrive for Business sync client (Groove.exe) stops running and removes itself from automatic startup, unless it's still syncing other content, such as SharePoint site libraries or on-premises OneDrive for Business.

What you'll need

For the new OneDrive for Business sync client to take over syncing from the previous OneDrive for Business sync client, the user’s computer must meet the following conditions:

  • The previous OneDrive for Business sync client (Groove.exe) must be syncing OneDrive for Business in SharePoint Online or Office 365.
  • The version number of the OneDrive for Business Next Generation Sync Client (OneDrive.exe) installed must be at least version 17.3.6378.0329.
  • The version number of the previous OneDrive for Business client (Groove.exe) must be at least the minimum version from the following chart, depending on the version and the update method for Microsoft Office on the computer.

Office Version

Update Method

Minimum Version

Office 2013

MSI

15.0.4779.*

Office 2013

Click-to-run

15.0.4779.*

Office 2016

MSI

16.0.4324.100x

Office 2016

Click-to-run (CC)

16.0.6568.*

Office 2016

Click-to-run (FRDC)

16.0.6568.*

Office 2016

Click-to-run (DC)

16.0.6001.1046

How to use the new OneDrive for Business sync client to take over syncing

To use the new OneDrive for Business sync client to sync your OneDrive for Business, you need to sign in with the work or school account you’ve been using with the previous sync client (Groove.exe). Here's how:

Step 1: Launch OneDrive Setup

To get started, start OneDrive Setup by following the installation instructions in Get started with the OneDrive for Business Next Generation Sync Client in Windows.

 

 

Step 2: Sign in

On the Set up OneDrive screen, enter the email address you’ve been using with the previous sync client (Groove.exe), and then click Sign in.

And that’s it! The sign-in window will disappear and you should see a new blue cloud icon in your taskbar notification area. (You might need to click the Show hidden icons arrow next to the notification area to see the icon.)

The new OneDrive for Business sync client automatically tells Groove.exe to stop syncing your OneDrive folder and the new OneDrive for Business sync client starts syncing in the same folder.

(Optional) Step 3: Remove the previous OneDrive for Business sync client

If you are using Groove.exe to sync any site libraries or on-premises SharePoint content, you need to keep using Groove.exe to sync this content. Groove.exe runs alongside the new OneDrive for Business sync client to continue syncing site libraries or on-premises SharePoint content.

If you've been using Groove.exe to sync only OneDrive for Business, then you no longer need the previous OneDrive for Business sync client. If you so choose, you can exclude Groove when deploying Office 365 ProPlus.

What to expect after using the new sync client

Note: Links to OneDrive for Business documents that appear in your Recent list in the Office apps (such as Word and PowerPoint) may not work. You may have to re-pin items in that list with updated links, or navigate directly to the files and open them again to update them in the Recent list.

The previous OneDrive for Business sync client still syncs site libraries and SharePoint Server content

Although the new OneDrive for Business sync client (OneDrive.exe) will sync any OneDrive files that you have on SharePoint Online, you'll need to continue to use the previous OneDrive for Business sync client (Groove.exe) to sync any site libraries or on-premises SharePoint content. You can use the previous and the new OneDrive for Business sync client on the same computer.

Several cloud icons could appear in the taskbar notification area, depending on how many tenants you're syncing and whether you're syncing a personal OneDrive consumer account, site libraries, or on-premises SharePoint content. See Which OneDrive sync client am I using?

Links in the Recent list in Office desktop apps might not work

Links to documents in your OneDrive site that appear in your Recent list in the Office desktop apps (such as Word and PowerPoint) may not work after you move to the new OneDrive for Business sync client. This means that you may have to re-pin items to the Recent list, or navigate directly to the files and open them again to update the entries in the Recent list.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk